National Lobster Hatchery Trustees recognised on New Year’s Honour List 

Just a few of our Trustees pictured here, from left to right, Jean Taylor, Edwin Derriman, Phil Le Grice, Dan James, Teri Walter.

Two Trustees of the National Lobster Hatchery have been appointed Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) in the 2016 New Year’s Honour list which recognises the achievements of a wide range of extraordinary people across the UK. 

Edwin Derriman received his honour for services to Marine Conservation and Jean Taylor has been awarded for services to Higher Education and Economic Development in Cornwall. 

As the Founding Chairman of the Hatchery, Edwin’s tireless support and input has proved invaluable to the charity’s work.  He spearheaded the initial concept and devotes significant time and effort to the ongoing success of the Hatchery.  “Edwin is an inspiration to everyone here” said Research and Development Officer for the National Lobster Hatchery, Dr Carly Daniels.   

Jean has been fundamental in the progression of many initiatives within the Hatchery, particularly in the development of educational links and gaining funding for the current £3m Lobster Grower 2 Project (LG2) which is the biggest lobster research project taking place in Europe at the moment.   Dr Carly Daniels commented that Jean’s input on the contractual and collaborative aspects of LG2 has been instrumental in the preliminary stages of this important project.” 

I’m delighted that Edwin and Jean have received these prestigious honours said Dominic Boothroyd, General Manager for the National Lobster Hatchery.  The dedication and support of our Board of Trustees is instrumental to the success of the Hatchery and recognition at this level serves to underline the deep respect and appreciation we hold for their dedication and hard work”.  

Post a comment